Home > Video Game Credo > Video Games- The reason the world is in turmoil?

Video Games- The reason the world is in turmoil?


“And meanwhile, you’re coming of age in a 24/7 media environment that bombards us with all kinds of content and exposes us to all kinds of arguments, some of which don’t always rank that high on the truth meter. And with iPods and iPads and Xboxes and PlayStations — none of which I know how to work — information becomes a distraction, a diversion, a form of entertainment, rather than a tool of empowerment, rather than the means of emancipation. So all of this is not only putting pressure on you; it’s putting new pressure on our country and on our democracy.” President Barrack Obama at Hampton University Commencement Speech, May 9th, 2010

If there is anything I learned in college is that writing about politics is a big mistake.  No matter how hard you try to be careful not to step on anyone’s political views, you will get feedback.  In fact, the best advice to writers who want more comments on their blog is to write about politics.  Sure none of the feedback will be positive and most will be attacking you personally, but at least you know you pissed off a good amount of individuals, which means a good amount of individuals read your work.

San Diego need jobs

Sign posted west of the I-5 in National City, San Diego

Yes, my advice to young writers is to stay away from politics and focus on more meaningful endeavors.  Right now, there is an oil spill bleeding into the Gulf of Mexico and the stock markets have lost their gains due to global economic fears because of Greece. No, not the movie, but the country that is in a financial crisis because of their insurmountable debt.  I like to think that with everything going on right now, Obama would focus his speech on something more important than the old “blame the violent video game” political tactic.  Is he trying to blame the corruption that went on in Wall Street on the fact that America was preoccupied with Zelda?

I apologize, if this seems like an attack on this administration, because it is not.  It’s an attack on politicians.  Politicians have been using this rhetoric more and more as video game laws are a hot topic for lawmakers. However, just like the U.N, there is a global league of gamers.  I’ve met a lot of them on Twitter, and I know they’d support the cause if pushed into action.  You wouldn’t want a whole legion of gamers to show up on the White House doorsteps with t-shirts embroidered with images of NES controllers and the 8-bit version of Mario.  Also in the mix will be those gamers who dress up as their favorite video game characters at your local comic or video game convention.

Yes I have admitted in the past, that if I had the systems out now, when I was in elementary school, it would have been surprising for me to be literate at age 18. Games probably would have distracted me from proms, high school basketball and after school programs like glee and drama club.  But the truth is, the blame wouldn’t have been placed only on me. A great deal of responsibility would have fell on my parents for allowing me to feed on my video game habit instead of focusing on my schooling.  I know when I  have a child, my gaming systems will be locked up in a secure room with pad locks and a state-of-the-art video monitoring systems to ensure they cannot enjoy the luxury of gaming unless they learned how to conjugate a verb, calculate a tangent line and tell me which one of Shakespeare’s sonnets they like the best.

Obama is right about one thing, we are in a digital age and these systems are not the ones we grew up with.  They are far more potent.  Parental guidance is strongly suggested.  But if you blame games for wasting time and being the dregs of the economy, then you might as well blame all of the arts.  Blame movies for allowing a generation of teenagers to quote Jeff Spicoli.  Blame television for having the masses say “Party on Wayne!”  Blame Mad Magazine for exposing us to crude humor.  Blame Mad Libs for peaking our creativity and allowing us to tell stories without staying “within the lines”.

Also, why are you blaming a proven economic force in this world?  Last I’ve checked video games are big business and increasing in prevalence with the ability to play highly addictive games on hand-held devices and on social networking sites.  I’ll tell you one thing, the US government does not have to worry about bailing out EA anytime soon.

I know we are all under stress under these times and sometimes we don’t get to plan our speeches out the way we wanted to. For my brother’s best man speech, I was really nervous and blanked out with at least 15 seconds of dead air.  Yes, it’s an eerie feeling, but before you just start spitting out political jargon that has been tried by many politicians before, I would go with some comedy.  Yes good ole fashion comedy never hurt anyone Mr. President.  Just admit that you didn’t have your speech ready or budget cuts forced you to cut back on the speechwriters and then break into some lines from your favorite films, let’s see if the crowd picks up on them.  I think some quotes from Shawshank Redemption would be fitting for a commencement ceremony.

Obama has been in office for 478 days now and I had no complaints to voice to date, until I read the speech from last Sunday.  The only way I can forgive him now is with a Game Night.

Perhaps, this is all a misunderstanding and Obama needs to be exposed to some better games.  I don’t know, maybe growing up, he was more of a Sega Genesis kind of guy and purchased a Sega CD, like myself, and vowed to never allow the video game industry to thrive for producing such a travesty of life. It’s understandable.

Maybe, someday, when there is downtime in your schedule, after all the budget hearings are done, and you just want to unwind, I can perchance head over there and play some Modern Warfare 2 with you.  We can sit and chat about the shortcomings of the NCAA football rating system as you learn how it takes a little more brain power to plan a collective attack with strangers you just met online.  Yes me and Barrack would have a great time and I’ll convince him that playing some Punch Out on Wii is far from possessing a petrified mind and spirit.

Zelda is to blame for Wall St.

Zelda is to blame for Corruption on Wall Street

Yes, as I get ready to leave and pack up my game systems in my bags like the Cat-in-the-Hat, Obama will say,

” No. Please come back,

let us play classics like Halo, Contra, and Mega Man.

With Wii with motion control, I am shooting three pointers, with no ball in the palm of my hand.”

“Ah Obama” I say, as I pack up the Wii Black, “There is an economy in turmoil and an ocean in distress,

it is fun to play from time to time, but those needs you must address”

So with my pack on my back, I head back west,

and leave the town, where politics never rests…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

