Home > Gamer Poetry, Video Game Credo > Blessings of a Child Begot

Blessings of a Child Begot


Baby Blog

Spawn of the Gamer Dad

At any moment, any second, at an instant, I could be on the way to the hospital as a first time dad. I get to hold my baby and embark on a new journey in life.  Who cares about tracking game achievements now when I can track the multitude of my child’s real-life achievements. Something to truly cherish.

But what does this mean to the gamer in me? Yet another reason why it’s the beleaguered gamer blog and not the too much time on my hands blog.  On a recent Conan interview, Jack Black said that now that he has kids, “No more the Xbox” (he sticks a finger up as if saying number one, but this time he waves the finger in the international hand gesture of “no”).  An ominous sign for me indeed, especially to someone who has made it this far in adulthood as a bonafide gamer.  When I was growing up, games were something kids played.  Adults gaming in their 30’s would be scorned upon by the acid jean wearing society of the mid 80’s.  However, now Video Games are complex and are now featured in prominent periodicals under the Art section.  With their theatrical abilities it makes them synonymous to movies or literature (at least in my mind, I have yet been asked to speak at a conference…yet).

Now I am about to enter a new breed.  Not one that is diminishing with the test of time, but one that is growing in numbers.  The era of the Gamer-Dad.  Sure I’ll have to wait until the wee hours of the night when the house is asleep and the baby is in the deepest of dreams to turn on  my gaming system of choice.  Life isn’t about mourning the things you lose (as in my potential gaming hours per week diminishing), it’s about cherishing the things you love. So trading off some gaming hours for the love of a child is more than worth it.

Mario

My statue of the modern day Ulysses

One day my daughter might ask who the red hat adorning guy with the capital M as an emblem on my key-chain is.  I will say, “That is Mario, he is the modern day Ulysses.”  Then she will ask, who is Ulysses, and the cycle of learning continues…

The birth of my daughter is far from a gaming detriment,

it’s a betterment,

as you realign your goals and adjust to ward off struggles,

those few things in life you love most,

will be even more the valuable,

Let us not forget to inhale what life gives us,

and embrace it for the air of life is finite,

Blessings of a child begot,

The hours dedicated to gaming will go down,

but the passion for when the systems turn on will not.

Leave a Reply

